David Andrew Warner (born 27 October 1986) is the vice captain of the Australian team in all 3 formats of the game. An explosive left-handed opening batsman, Warner is the first Australian cricketer in 132 years to be selected for a national team in any format without experience in first-class cricket. He currently plays for Australia, New South Wales, and Sunrises Hyderabad, where he recently captained the side to the IPL Champions Trophy 2016. He became vice-captain of Australia across Test and ODI formats of the game, in August 2015. He predominantly fields at slip, but has moved to midwicket after thumb injuries in 2016.

On 7 November 2015, Warner became only the third batsman in history of Test cricket to score centuries in both innings of a Test match thrice, after Sunil Gavaskar and Ricky Ponting. In the very next Test match against New Zealand, he scored his maiden Test double century at The WACA, Perth, his fourth consecutive century against New Zealand. In that same match, Warner also became the second opener in Test cricket history, after India’s Sunil Gavaskar, to score three consecutive Test hundreds twice in his career, and the only Australian since Adam Gilchrist to score three consecutive hundreds (a feat Warner had done twice in just 13 months), while completing his 4,000 Test career runs as the 4th fastest Aussie batsman, the top three being the legendary Don Bradman, Matthew Hayden and Neil Harvey respectively.

Warner also became the first batsman to ever score three centuries at The WACA, with his top 2 scores in Tests both achieved in the same stadium. His top score of 253 was also the second-highest individual score to be surpassed by an opposition batsman in the same Test match, which was surpassed during Ross Taylor’s knock of 290. Currently, he is ranked fifth in the list of top 10 Test batsmen in the world, according to the official ICC Player Rankings, published in December 2015. He is the first Australian and sixth overall to reach 1,500 T20I runs.

In 2016 David was the proud recipient of the Alan Border Medal, as well as the award for Test Player of the Year.

On January 3rd 2017, Warner became the first person to score an international Test century in Australia within the first session, and only the fifth person in history. It was the fourth fastest test hundred by an Australian, with Warner already owning the third fastest. It moves his tally along to a world leading 18 test centuries since his debut in 2011.

photo: Mark Kolbe gettyimages


For exclusive DW31 News, Video and Tour Dates,

please sign up and join the club!


For general enquiries, corporate partnerships or more information,
please fill out the form below and we will be in touch.