Warner wins back to back Allan Border Medals

24.01.17 / News


For the second year in a row David Warner has won the highest honour in Australian cricket, the Allan Border Medal.

Warner joins an elite group of modern day players including Ricky Ponting, Shane Watson and Michael Clarke who had claimed consecutive gongs in the 16-year history of the award.

Warner’s 269 votes, logged by his fellow players, umpires and media – gave him the edge over captain Steve Smith (248) and Test Cricketer of the Year Mitchell Starc (197). David was the expected winner of the ODI Cricketer of the Year, after his amazing run of form over the calendar year, which included a record 7 centuries, and 1,388 runs, which as a total was a world-high, and 200 more than the next best in Smith.

Surprisingly with winning the ODI Player of the Year, DW became just the sixth player to win all three major awards – the Border, Test and ODI Player of the Year — joining Glenn McGrath, Matthew Hayden, Ricky Ponting, Shane Watson and Steve Smith.

Photos © AAP: Paul Miller




For exclusive DW31 News, Video and Tour Dates,

please sign up and join the club!


For general enquiries, corporate partnerships or more information,
please fill out the form below and we will be in touch.